Thursday, June 11, 2020

Halal and Haram



What is Halal 


According to the Islamic Council, 'halal' is an Arabic word, meaning lawful or permitted in Sharia (Islamic law).  The term applies to food and beverages, meat products, cosmetics, medicines, food items - everything.In general every food is considered halal in Islam unless it is specially prohibited by the Qur’an or the Hadith . By official definition, halal foods are those that are:
  1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law (Shariah).
  2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

Muslims eat to maintain a strong and healthy physique in order to be able to contribute their knowledge and effort for the welfare of the society. Muslims are supposed to make an effort to obtain the best quality nutritionally. It is mentioned in a Hadith that the prayer of a person is rejected by Allah if the food consumed is prohibited (haram). All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):

  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
  • Non-Halal Animal Fat
  • Enzymes* (Microbial Enzymes are permissible)
  • Gelatine* – from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)
  • L-cysteine (if from human hair)
  • Lard
  • Lipase* (only animal lipase need be avoided)
  • Non-Halal Animal Shortening
  • Pork, Bacon / Ham and anything from pigs
  • Unspecified Meat Broth
  • Rennet* (All forms should be avoided except for plant / microbial /
  • synthetic – rennet obtained from halal slaughtered animal is
  • permissible).
  • Stock* (a blend of mix species broth or meat stock)
  • Tallow* (non-Halal species)
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products

What is Haram in Islam

If somebody says that something is Haraam, they usually mean it is ‘forbidden’. Haraam refers to anything that is prohibited in the Qur’ran or would result in sin when committed by a Muslim. For example adultery, murder or money obtained through cheating or stealing. It can also refer to certain foods and drinks such as pork or alcohol, that are considered Haraam. 

Haram things for Men-

  • Wearing Gold jewellery
  • Piercings
  • Marrying more than 4 wives
  • Wearing shorts that show the knees
  • Shaving body hair
  • Wearing perfume containing alcohal
  • Shaving beard lower than 1/2 cm.
  • Having a long Mustache

Haram things for Women-

  • Showing hair or skin on public
  • Talking louder than a man
  • Talking to another man other than husband
  • Going outside without the consent of her husband
  • Wearing shorts that show the knees
  • Wearing jewellery in public
  • Wearing makeup in public
  • Wearing perfume in public
  • Arguing with your husband



No comments:

Post a Comment

Umrah

What is Umrah In Arabic, the word Umrah is derived from I'timaar which means a visit. However, Umrah in islamic terminology, means payi...